Book Awards 2017

View the 2017 Book Awards Winners and Shortlist

View the 2017 Gallery

The BPIF is honoured to announce the winners of the 2017 British Book Design and Production Awards, held on 16 November at the Millennium Hotel in Mayfair, central London.

The evening was hosted by guest presenter, Jenny Eclair, the first ever woman to win the Perrier Award for comedy at the 1995 Edinburgh Festival. Along with her sell-out tour ‘How to be a Middle Aged Woman (Without Going Insane)’, she’s well known for TV appearances on Loose Women, QI, I’m a Celebrity and Grumpy Old Women, as well as for her accomplished novels and writings. She kept guests well entertained throughout the evening and presented a total of 18 awards.

The judges, whose combined skills covered the print, design, publishing and book binding  sectors, had the challenging task of studying a record 664 entries before producing the prestigious list of finalists.

The Best Jacket/Cover Design category continued to attract the highest number of entrants, with a record 105 submissions. It was won by Scribe UK for their title The Animators, which was praised by the judges for its ‘aggressively colourful cover’; ‘wonderful endpapers’ and ‘retro use of hand lettering’.

Handy Tandra, a student from the University of the West of England, came top in the Best Student Book category, winning a £500 cheque and the opportunity to complete an internship in the industry for his book Kanye.

Leslie Gerry Editions were the outright winners of the evening, claiming the top spot in the Photographic Books, Art/Architecture Monographs category with their book Havana, as well as winning the coveted Book of the Year category for the same title. The judges agreed that Havana was in a ‘class of its own’, stating that the ‘striking photography, exceptional paper choice and accomplished binding’ made the book ‘unequaled in every degree.’

A beautiful Book of the Night, created in collaboration with Boss Print, thePAGEDESIGN and artist Vic Lee, was taken home by those who attended the awards. Showcasing all the books from the finalists, its artisan theme and nod to William Caxton truly captured the ethos of the evening, celebrating the skill, craftsmanship and creativity that goes into the creation of a traditionally printed book.

The glittering event was a night to remember, and was a wonderful celebration of the talent, technology and dedication of those who produce the country’s finest books.

The BPIF would like to thank the sponsors and supporters of the 2017 BBDPAs: BookMachine, Boss Print, Canon, Denmaur Independent Papers, Fedrigoni, Friedheim International, HP, Intelligent Finishing Systems, Kolbus, Muller Martini, the Printing Charity, Oxford Brookes University, The Bookseller, The Publishers Association, Vision in Print and Winter & Company.

Congratulations to all winners and finalists.

Entry for the 2018 BBDPAs will open in April.

For further information please contact Heena Bulsara, BPIF Marketing Executive, at [email protected]