Book Awards 2018

View the 2018 Book Awards Winners and Shortlist

View the 2018 Gallery

The 2018 British Book Design and Production Awards were held at the Montcalm Marble Arch Hotel in London on 22 November 2018. Although 106 spectacular books made it onto the shortlist, only 19 winners could be crowned.

‘That Book’ created by Eszter & David and Hurtwood Press was the star of the evening, triumphing in Digitally Printed Books and also securing the prestigious title of Book of the Year. The judges were captivated by the attention to detail, and said it was “devoid of boundaries and designed with boundless imagination”.

Penguin Random House also scooped three awards on the evening for Best Jacket/Cover Design for ‘The Handmaids Tale’, Lifestyle Illustrated with ‘Hawksmoor: Restaurants & Recipes’, and Trade Illustrated with ‘River Café 30.

Saoirse Suvari, National College of Art & Design, took home the award for Best Student Book for Kurdish Freedom Fighter, which judges described as “an incredibly personal piece of work”. Saoirse took home a £500 cheque and the opportunity to complete an internship in the industry.

The evening was hosted by author and comedian Adam Kay, who rose to fame with his book This is going to Hurt, which recounts his former career as a junior doctor. An instant Sunday Times bestseller with over 700,000 copies sold, it has won numerous literary prizes. Adam entertained guests throughout the evening and presented a total of 19 awards.

The awards exist to celebrate and treasure beautiful physical books and the craft that creates them. The theme this year was VIVID, to reflect the powerful feelings and strong, clear images that books can evoke.

The evening proved a delightful celebration of all the elements that go into creating a beautiful book. Each attendee took home a bright neon Book of the Night, printed by BOSS Print, which showcased the talent of all this year’s finalists.

Congratulations to all the worthy winners and finalists!

The Awards were run in association with BookMachine, Oxford Brookes University, The Bookseller, and The Publishers Association. The BPIF would like to thank the 2018 judges, sponsors and supporters who made the awards such a success.

Entries for the 2019 BBDPAs will open on 12 March 2019

For further information, please contact Anais Bellemans at [email protected]